your widget

22 Jun 2011

Chris Temlett misses a place in T20 and ODI squads

He is the highest wicket-taker (15) in the recent series against Sri Lanka. He took 4 wickets in the 4th inning of 1st test match that paved a way of victory for English side. He is now also in the elite list of top 10 test bowler according to Reliance ICC Player Ranking (currently at no. 10 with 611 points) after his career best performance(6/48) in the Southampton test. Surprisingly, the man who had the finest month of June could not impress the selectors a lot for the upcoming T20 and ODI series.

Who's in, Who's out?

There is no question that ECB has selected a wise team calling back the wicket-keeper batsman Craig Kieswetter (Somerset) and spin allrounder Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), but inclusion of Christopher Tremlett (Surrey) could have given an extra weight to the team. Ravi Bopara (Essex) is also included in the list despite failing number of times in the domestic matches this season. Steven Finn (Middlesex) is lucky to be gifted spot in both squads while Ian Bell (Warwickshire) deserves it after the tremendous performances throughout 2011. No Paul Collingwood in the side means ECB is giving him a hint that his career might be over now. Matt Prior won't be seen behind the wickets as well.

Chris Tremlett in England's strategy against India

As hinted by Geoff Boycott, it seems Chris Tremlett will be the biggest weapon for England against touring India this summer. The pace and accuracy induced by 6'8'' tall Tremlett could create headache for Indian batsmen. Inddians are traditionally reluctant against bouncy and swinging wickets. In this condition, India could face their biggest nightmare in the form of Tremlett. 

T20 Squad 
 Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, Graeme Swann, Chris Woakes, Luke Wright, Stuard Broad (C), Craig Kieswetter (WK).

One-day squad 
James Anderson, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Stuart Broad, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn,  Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, Graeme Swann, Jonathan Trott, Chris Woakes, Alastair Cook (C), Craig Kieswetter (WK).

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Didn't get what you looking for? Try Searching below:
Custom Search

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | JCpenney Printable Coupons